Patrick Reitinger

Patrick Reitinger

Master of Arts (M.A.)

Otto Friedrich University of Bamberg
Professorship of Historical Geography
Am Kranen 12
D-96047 Bamberg

Due to a research stay at the Charles University in Prague, I can currently only be contacted limitedly at the University of Bamberg.

Please feel free to send me an email to patrick.reitinger@uni-bamberg.de. I also offer consultations by appointment via Skype.

Scientific Profile

As a historical geographer I am dealing with the powerful planning and organization of spaces in South and East Germany, Austria and the Czech Republic. Thematically I research with a focus on borders, border areas and cross-border relations, on the political and social management of rural-peripheral areas as well as on the history of ideas of spatial and landscape planning in the 20th century.

Current Activities

Visiting Researcher, Univerzita Karlova, Prague – from 01.2020
One-year research stay at the Department of Social Geography and Regional Development

Project Coordinator, Otto Friedrich University of Bamberg – since 08.2019
Scientific coordination of the international research project Management of Crossborder Rurality | Bavaria Bohemia 1990 2020 at the Professorship of Historical Geography, University of Bamberg, in cooperation with the Univerzita J. E. Purkyně in Ústí nad Labem, funded by the Bavarian-Czech Academic Agency

Associate Member, Herder Institute for Historical Research on East Central Europe - Institute of the Leibniz Association, Marburg – seit 10.2018
External Member of the Herder Institute Research Academy (HIRA) under the scientific supervision of Prof. Dr. Peter Haslinger, PD Dr. Heidi Hein-Kircher & Dr. Anna Veronika Wendland

Lectures

Courses in the next semester (summer semester 2020)

  • Seminar "Regional Geography: European Border Regions", University of Bamberg, Institute of Geography, Professorship of Historical Geography
  • Excursion "Slovakia in the 19th and 20th Centuries", together with Prof. Dr. Andreas Dix, University of Bamberg, Institute of Geography, Professorship of Historical Geography in cooperation with the Professorship of Slavic Art and Cultural History

Academic Qualifications

Historical Geography, Dr. phil., ongoing
Since 05.2018 ongoing doctoral studies in Historical Geography at the Faculty of Humanities, University of Bamberg, under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Andreas Dix (Bamberg) and Prof. Dr. Marek Nekula (Regensburg). Current working title: The influence of political developments in Czechoslovakia on spatial policy in Eastern Bavaria (1918-1933) (project description, in German only).

Social and Population Geography, M.A.
Study of Social and Population Geography with the extension subject Historical Geography at the University of Bamberg. Graduated as Master of Arts (M.A.) in March 2018. Thesis: Space, Identity and Recollection. Old and new border conditions in reunited Germany.

Governance and Public Policy, B.A.
Pre-study of law and study of Governance and Public Policy with the main subjects Public Law and Sociology as well as the minor subjects Political Science and History at the University of Passau. Graduated as Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in March 2016. Thesis: The social construction of unborn life. A sociology of knowledge perspective on the formation of legal norms in the context of embryonic stem cell research (published as an essay, in German only).

Current Publications

Reitinger, Patrick, Grenzüberschreitende Ländlichkeit im vereinigten Europa. Herausforderungen und Chancen für ländliche Räume in der bayerisch-böhmischen Grenzregion, in: Kulturkorrespondenz östliches Europa 10, 2019. 

Reitinger, Patrick, Wozu historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung? - und was wir aus der Geographiegeschichte lernen können!, in: Entdeckungen. Ein Blog zu Ostmitteleuropa. Herder-Institut für historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung - Institut der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, Marburg 2019.

Reitinger, Patrick, 'Leben' als unverbindliches Konstrukt. Verräumlichungs- und Vergesellschaftungsprozesse am Lebensbeginn, in: Benkel, Thorsten & Matthias Meitzler (Hrsg.): Zwischen Leben und Tod. Sozialwissenschaftliche Grenzgänge. Wiesbaden 2019.

Upcoming Presentations

Management of Crossborder Rurality. An analysis of the governance of rural development policy in the Bavarian-Czech border region. 3rd European Rural Geographies Conference, Rjiksuniversiteit Groningen, 22.-24.06.2020.

„Do we need a bulwark against the Czechs?“ The Paris Peace Conference and its implications for spatial policy in Eastern Bavaria. 3rd Central European Conference of Historical Geographers, Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg, 12.-13.06.2020.

ResearchGate

ResearchGate

You are interested in my research and would like to stay up to date? Follow me on ResearchGate!

Patrick Reitinger

Patrick Reitinger

Master of Arts (M.A.)

Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg
Professur für Historische Geographie
Am Kranen 12
D-96047 Bamberg

Aufgrund eines Forschungsaufenthalts an der Karls-Universität Prag bin ich im Moment an der Universität Bamberg nur eingeschränkt zu erreichen.

Gerne können Sie mich unter patrick.reitinger@uni-bamberg.de kontaktieren. Sprechstundentermine biete ich nach Vereinbarung auch per Skype an. 

Forschungsprofil

Als Historischer Geograph beschäftige ich mich mit der machtvollen Planung und Gestaltung von Räumen in Süd- und Ostdeutschland, Österreich und der Tschechischen Republik. Thematisch forsche ich schwerpunktmäßig zu Grenzen, Grenzräumen und grenzüberschreitenden Beziehungen, zum politischen und gesellschaftlichen Umgang mit ländlich-peripheren Räumen sowie zur Ideengeschichte der Raum- und Landschaftsplanung im 20. Jahrhundert.

Aktuelle Tätigkeiten

Gastwissenschaftler, Karls-Universität Prag – ab 01.2020
Einjähriger Forschungsaufenthalt am Department of Social Geography and Regional Development

Projektkoordinator, Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg – seit 08.2019
Wissenschaftliche Koordination des internationalen Forschungsprojektes Management of Crossborder Rurality | Bavaria Bohemia 1990 2020 an der Professur für Historische Geographie der Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg in Zusammenarbeit mit der Univerzita J. E. Purkyně in Ústí nad Labem, gefördert durch die Bayerisch-Tschechische Hochschulagentur

Assoziiertes Mitglied, Herder-Institut für historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung - Institut der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, Marburg – seit 10.2018
Externes Mitglied in der Herder Institute Research Academy (HIRA) unter der wissenschaftlichen Leitung von Prof. Dr. Peter Haslinger, PD Dr. Heidi Hein-Kircher & Dr. Anna Veronika Wendland

Lehrveranstaltungen

Lehrveranstaltungen im kommenden Semester (Sommersemester 2020)

  • Seminar "Regionale Geographie: Europäische Grenzregionen", Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg, Institut für Geographie, Professur für Historische Geographie
  • Große Exkursion "Slowakei im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert", zusammen mit Prof. Dr. Andreas Dix, Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg, Institut für Geographie, Professur für Historische Geographie in Kooperation mit der Professur für Slavische Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte

Akademische Qualifikation

Historische Geographie, Dr. phil., laufend
Laufendes Promotionsverfahren seit 05.2018 im Fach Historische Geographie an der Fakultät Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften der Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg unter der Betreuung von Prof. Dr. Andreas Dix (Bamberg) und Prof. Dr. Marek Nekula (Regensburg). Aktueller Arbeitstitel: Der Einfluss politischer Entwicklungen in der Tschechoslowakei auf die Raumpolitik in Ostbayern (1918-1933) (zur Projektbeschreibung)

Sozial- und Bevölkerungsgeographie, M.A., Note 1,1
Studium der Sozial- und Bevölkerungsgeographie mit dem Erweiterungsfach Historische Geographie an der Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg. Abschluss als Master of Arts (M.A.) im März 2018. Abschlussarbeit: Raum, Identität und Erinnerung. Alte und neue Grenzverhältnisse im wiedervereinigten Deutschland.

Governance and Public Policy - Staatswissenschaften, B.A., Note 1,8
Grundstudium der Rechtswissenschaften und Studium der Staatswissenschaften mit den Hauptfächern Öffentliches Recht und Soziologie sowie den Nebenfächern Politikwissenschaften und Geschichte an der Universität Passau. Abschluss als Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) im März 2016. Abschlussarbeit: Die gesellschaftliche Konstruktion des ungeborenen Lebens. Ein wissenssoziologischer Blick auf die Bildung von Rechtsnormen im Kontext embryonaler Stammzellenforschung (als Aufsatz veröffentlich)

Aktuelle Veröffentlichungen

Reitinger, Patrick, Grenzüberschreitende Ländlichkeit im vereinigten Europa. Herausforderungen und Chancen für ländliche Räume in der bayerisch-böhmischen Grenzregion, in: Kulturkorrespondenz östliches Europa 10, 2019. (Zum Beitrag)

Reitinger, Patrick, Wozu historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung? - und was wir aus der Geographiegeschichte lernen können!, in: Entdeckungen. Ein Blog zu Ostmitteleuropa. Herder-Institut für historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung - Institut der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, Marburg 2019. (Zum Beitrag)

Reitinger, Patrick, 'Leben' als unverbindliches Konstrukt. Verräumlichungs- und Vergesellschaftungsprozesse am Lebensbeginn, in: Benkel, Thorsten & Matthias Meitzler (Hrsg.): Zwischen Leben und Tod. Sozialwissenschaftliche Grenzgänge. Wiesbaden 2019. (Zum Beitrag)

Künftige Vorträge


Management of Crossborder Rurality. An analysis of the governance of rural development policy in the Bavarian-Czech border region. 3rd European Rural Geographies Conference, Rjiksuniversiteit Groningen, 22.-24.06.2020.

„Do we need a bulwark against the Czechs?“ The Paris Peace Conference and its implications for spatial policy in Eastern Bavaria. 3rd Central European Conference of Historical Geographers, Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg, 12.-13.06.2020.

ResearchGate

ResearchGate

Sie sind an meiner Forschung interessiert und möchten gerne auf dem Laufenden bleiben? Folgen Sie mir auf ResearchGate!